What is ARES?

ARES is the Amateur Radio Emergency Service, a nation wide program founded in 1950 by the ARRL, the national association for Amateur Radio. Its motto is “When all else fails, Amateur Radio works.”

ARES provides no-cost nation wide backup emergency communication services to private and public emergency and disaster relief agencies.

Individual Amateur Radio operators are prohibited by Federal law from receiving compensation for their services, hence the name “Amateur.”

Who does W1ROC serve?

Eastern Rockingham County ARES serves the following cities and towns:

  • Brentwood
  • East Kingston
  • Exeter
  • Greenland
  • Hampton
  • Hampton Falls
  • Kensington
  • Kingston
  • Newcastle
  • Newfields
  • Newington
  • Newmarket
  • Newton
  • Newton Junction
  • North Hampton
  • Portsmouth
  • Rye
  • Seabrook
  • South Hampton
  • Stratham

Eastern Rockingham County also liaises directly with:

  • York County, Maine
  • Strafford County, New Hampshire
  • Western Rockingham County, New Hampshire
  • Central District, New Hampshire
  • Eastern Massachusetts